The joy of photography…

that’s what i have found here in little Three Hills…in particular in this little building. 

This is the Three Hills Arts Academy.  I am taking a class here every thursday night for a few months entitled, “The Joy of Digital Photography”.  It has been, well, wonderful.  

Back when I first got married, my mother-in-law gave me my first SLR camera, a Canon Rebel xt.  I have always wanted to learn how to use it…really use it.  Not just on auto-mode.  I don’t know why I didn’t just take it up then when I had no kids and so much time.  (that is one thing that you never realize until after you have kids, how much time you had…before).  This past fall I got a renewed interest and every time Robb would come up behind me on the computer he would ask why I was reading about aperture.  And then he started using the word aperture in everyday conversation too much and so I quit. 

Until now.  I happened to stumble upon this class and it has been perfect.  It gets me out of the house, using my brain, into the community, and meeting some new people.  Like Elisabeth whom I happened to sit next to on the first week and has the same camera…so we have become buddies through the learning together.  And I saw the barista woman whom served us coffee and I had a nice conversation just this morning when we took a walk to the coffee shop at the College.   And also two of the family doctors in the town are in the class whom are not taking patients and therefore we don’t have a family doctor because we’re short 2 doctors in the town…and i almost approached one of them after class tonight but then decided i didn’t want to be that person and especially didn’t want to be that American person…but that’s a whole other thing. 

The class is at my beginning level and is covering exactly what I’ve been wanting to learn.  and as luck would have it, it turns out that the instructor, Ron Nickels, is actually not only a professional but is a pretty big deal and now travels the world taking photos for organizations like Samaritan’s Purse, Focus on the Family and Billy Graham Evangelistic Association. 

tonight, he highlighted one of my “homework” pictures. 

He talked about my shallow depth of field, the clarity of the ribbon in the shot and how he liked the colors in the photo.  But i wondered if he just wanted to affirm me a bit before he put up this other “homework” picture and used it as an example on bad light metering in the snow and specks in the sky that indicate a dirty sensor.

So, I guess I have a long way to go but I have found the joy of photography here in Canada.  Who knew?

3 thoughts on “The joy of photography…

  1. I am so glad you found the perfect class! I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    Hello to “dances with fox” and your sweet children (Happy Belated Birthday to Sela and Happy Early Birthday to Ethan) We miss you the Square…it would have been fun to ride out Snowmaggedon ’11 together. Of course, we would have needed to put a rope up between our houses, Little House on the Prairie style.

    • I love you, Karen! We would have gotten some good Settlers in, that’s for sure!! It’s unbelievable that all of you are buried in snow and freezing cold weather and we’re sweating it out at 45 degrees F- that’s what it reached today on the tundra.

Leave a Reply

