NurtureShock book…

I have recently picked this book up again off my shelf and began re-reading…

By its own description found at the website, The central premise of this book is that many of modern society’s strategies for nurturing children are in fact backfiring – because key twists in the science have been overlooked.”

I first got it from my public educator sister whom by profession would be up on what would be the current thinking about children.  Now dealing with children every day and having so much invested in those kiddos, I have become also extremely interested in such subjects as how to think about children.

I appreciate the book because it deals mostly with scientific study, research and statistics with just enough experiences and personal trial to illustrate well. It lays them out so there’s not much room to move around the findings no matter what you want to find.   It’s one of those books that has truly changed my thinking…the kind that has impacted the daily interaction with my own children in conscious ways.

I want to write about a few chapters…

5 thoughts on “NurtureShock book…

  1. Kristy, thank you for this post. I received the book yesterday and just finished the 2nd chapter “The Lost Hour”. Kevin & I have been sleep police forever (and made fun of by my well intended siblings a lot) but I now have science and studies to back up my instinct. I have seen how my kids look, feel and act when deprived of sleep. It matters.
    Also feeling more aware of the “praise” and feedback we give on any topic. That, too, matters.
    Can’t wait to finish this insightful book. Thank you and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  2. Pingback: NurtureShock: the inverse power of praise… | three hills and some mountains

  3. Pingback: NurtureShock…why kids lie | three hills and some mountains

Leave a Reply

